It’s Nothing Personal

I helped out with a free agent mini camp for the Oklahoma City Thunder in the summer of 2009.  The players at this camp were all good players that were a step or an opportunity away from making it to the NBA.  Checking into the hotel the day before camp I met former Kansas point guard, Aaron Miles.  He was friendly and polite and instantly someone I liked.

As we started workouts the next day I ended up giving Aaron defensive pressure in a shooting drill.  Instinctively I put my hand out and near his hip.  He responded by slapping it away – HARD.  The next time through my hand went up again and he again slapped it away – HARD.  I have to admit that for a split second I was worried that I had offended him or was bothering him.  Aaron got back in line, another coach stepped up to defend and stuck his hand out and Aaron slapped it away.  I realized that for Aaron, it was just a reflex.

Even in a shooting drill these players practiced like they play.  That is the only way you will make the next step in your development.

The Love of the Game Logo

This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to It’s Nothing Personal

  1. saleh says:

    as u said nothing is personal

Leave a comment